19
May
07

Bad Restaurant Service

not-so-small talk:
Came back from Thailand on Tuesday. 600+ photos but don’t know how to post-process them. And girls in Chiang Mai are really pretty.

It’s been such a long time since I wrote anything here. Blame my lack of inspiration and motivation. Simply said, I’m plain malas lah.

Now back to the topic.

A friend of mine was in Bangi for a week-long training. So I drove there to meet him up for a quick dinner before he heads to Malacca. We decided to have dinner in One Station (or is it Station One?) in Kajang.

The restaurant was almost empty. I ordered fish and chips, my friend Maryland chicken. When the food came, my friend got his chicken… and I got my chicken(?)… chicken chop. I told the waitress to return it as I thought it was probably meant for someone else. Then the chicken chop came back. The waitress gave me a stupid+guilty smile. WTF?!

I had to respect her for her guts. She admitted she had made a mistake while placing an order for my food. And she hope I’ll accept the chicken chop. Eh hello?! I ordered fish and chips, OK?!

If it were The Ship, I may accept it knowing that my food would still taste good. But it’s One Station. The only barely-acceptable food is fish and chips. I tried rejecting it but she kept pleading because she would have to pay [money] for the mistake.

the ship
The Ship Restaurant in Bukit Bintang

My friend was quite sympathetic and actually help her persuade me. WTF?! Eh, not my fault she made a mistake. I wanted to be nice, but today is just not the day. Some more I had to eat and PAY for HER mistake + service charge.

Talking about restaurant service charges gets me mad. Especially those lousy Hong Kong-style hybrid-food restaurants [Kim Gary, Wongkok Char Chan Teng, One Station…] that always have this 10% service charge. I hate/despise/abhor/detest that f*cked up 10%.

The service is slow. I have to take(or tick) the orders myself. The waiters don’t come to you even if you shout at them.
The only service they provide is bring the food and bring the receipt. Liddat also worth that 10% kah?! Oi, grandpa-style kopitiams and mamak stalls have better service lah.

I wouldn’t mind if the service is like Madam Kwan’s or The Ship, where you only had to lift you head to get any waiter’s attention. And before you can raise your hands halfway, he/she is already at your table… waiting for your order. And the best part, the food is only very slightly more expensive than Kim Gary/Wongkok but a zillion times better. Now that’s a 10% I’m only too happy to pay.

So, next time if you go to a restaurant with lousy service (or worse: no service) but charges the stupid 10%, complain like h*ll to the waiter/supervisor/drink runner/bartender/cashier/whoever working in that restaurant. Make it known that you refuse to pay the 10%. If enough people complains, they’ll eventually hear us and hopefully improve.

Remember, YOU are paying them with YOUR MONEY! Don’t be embarrased to demand for good service [and of course, good food]. Don’t pity them too much. It’s their job anyway.
(I’ve worked as a waiter before, no customers bertimbang rasa towards me also.)

1 Response to “Bad Restaurant Service”


  1. May 5, 2013 at 2:32 pm

    Hi there! This blog post couldn’t be written much better! Going through this post reminds me of my previous roommate! He constantly kept talking about this. I’ll forward
    this post to him. Pretty sure he’ll have a good read. Thank you for sharing!


Leave a Reply

Twitter of a Cereal Killer

  • I love Dropbox because it is easy to use, easy to share stuff, easy to upload photos from my phone. db.tt/p5VJ3PCt 3 years ago
  • @BFMradio charcoal tab=activated carbon which absorbs toxins. Charred food are not carbon, they are carcinogenic chem eg HCA, acrylamide. 4 years ago
  • @BFMradio Great job, Boey. Love your comic! 4 years ago
  • @BFMradio Mira:the natural T in women tak cukup to turn u into Arnold. If u train hard enough, u'd probably look like a gymnast. =) 4 years ago
  • Bulgarian split squat is the most taxing exercise I've had to endure. It's a battle! 7 years ago
  • Hangzhou-lites go for IV drip during hi fever or sorethroat. -_-" Aiyoh, just drink lotsa 100 Plus and gargle saline water lah! Duh! 7 years ago
  • Got an earful from my superior. My right ear (was on the phone) is still ringing w/ her voice. Is it ok to hope that I get fired soon? LOL! 7 years ago
  • Just came back from HZ Hash Hound Harriers. Woooo, that was fun! I should so join again next week. 7 years ago

iamyuanwu’s fitness

Simplefit Level 6 day 3 = 14min 12s (12 Sep, Fri)

Hundred Pushups = Week 3 day 3 (13 Sep, Tue)

Stronglift 5x5 = temporary hiatus. Someone help me kick start plz, I mustn't waste the free Fitnesss First membership!

BN/UMN0 pisses me off!


Sep 05 BN MPs go 'study tour' to prevent them from jumping ship. X^D Stupiak tactic.
Sep 04 DrM 老马's seditious blog post <--click) inciting Malays to go amok. Told you DrM is evil.
Aug 29 Ahmad Ismail called me a bl00dy pendatang & do not deserve equal treatment. WTF?!

Lies... Damned lies... and Statistics

  • 108,885 have been victimised
Page Ranking Icon  

