18
Mar
08

Refine & Define 2008 – The Dance Space

Oh, if I have not mentioned it before… now I’m telling you.

I sent in a form for the Men’s Health Refine & Define Challenge 2008. And I am selected as one of the 20 finalist. Woohoo! The challenge is to turn me into a real man’s man! X^D

So dancing is the third module out of 10. Off I went to The Dance Space in Plaza Damas on Saturday morning. The Dance Space is actually quite small lah. It’s just one big square room with wooden parque floor and a counter.


The Dance Space. That’s Mie posing for this shot. I put the magazine there simply for promotional purposes, and also to give the photo a sense of context, it is a Men’s Health event after all. flickr

I forgot who our dance instructor’s name. She’s a Thai and she taught us hip-hop… Aiseh, what is this lah. I don’t even go clubbing, so hip-hop basically doesn’t mean much to me. I was hoping that they might teach us some latin dance or some simple waltz. But I guess no guy will want to hold another guy’s hand and waist in a waltz. Ah well… hip-hop it is.

Contrary to my initial believe, hip-hop is actually not easy. I had the chance to learn a few steps from a friend last time. I just can’t synchronise my hands with my legs with my hips with my butts. Either I looked like a rusted robot with jammed gears, or a bone-less octopus squirming when I dance hip-hop or go to the clubs. I like dancing, but I’m no good at it.

I stood at the front. Why? Because I’d rather face the dance instructor’s back than to have 19 guys’ ass poking my eyes. I was just right behind the the instructor… and a few times she jokingly [& sarcastically] mentioned not to stare at her ass. Ooops, I must have overdone it. X^D


That’s Alif feigning exhaustion. flickr

After 2 hours, everyone was tired. There was a lot of movement, ass grinding, booty shaking & blur faces. If you want aerobic exercise the fun way, take hip hop lessons. We split and I went off for lunch with Alif, Dixon & Amran.

6 Responses to “Refine & Define 2008 – The Dance Space”


  1. 1 Wen
    March 18, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    hey cool! congratulations on becoming the top 20! and orh your photography skills has improved alot! cool yea..did u get any new gears?

  2. March 18, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    Thanks. If you bring your camera everywhere you go, you’ll improve. Not to mention the big gun is always the centre of attraction. Guys can’t seem to keep their hands off it, girls can’t seem to keep their faces away. Suddenly you’re everyone’s friend. X^D

    What more, letting n00bs handle my camera and shooting actually yields interesting photos. Of course, I also want my face to be in some of the photos lah.

    New gears? I got myself the SB-600 flash, an OTG back-up hard disk and a GorillaPod! (I’ll blog about them later). I’m starting to drool over ultra wide lenses. Still can’t afford it yet.

  3. 3 Wen
    March 20, 2008 at 9:17 am

    arghhhhhh I want some new gears too…but I shall wait till I get to US…cheaper to buy there with the money earned there…I’m drooling over D300 Omigosh! so beautiful!

  4. March 20, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    Eh, you’ll be working in the US? Nice! Tell me more about it.

    Hah hah! The D300. No Nikon user can resist that. I guess I’ll have to pass and wait for D500. X^D
    I’d rather save that money for the ultra wide angle.

  5. 5 Wen
    March 22, 2008 at 8:57 am

    dude, check my facebook status wei…I’m already engaged…so yes, I’ll be married to US and thus I’ll be working there as well…and yes cheaper camera gear and camera! wuhooo! can’t wait LOLZ…but currently my D40 got kidnapped by my fiance >.< I’m stuck with a puny sucky creature, the LUMIX DMC-FX07…man the shots are terrible…especially the night shots…all black like charcoal…basically everyone in the picture just turn to models of Darlie’s ad -.-“

  6. March 30, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    I have the FX08. As you said… it’s a crappy little creature. I’d rather use my camera phone.

    You’re engaged! I’m so sad… 1 less pretty girl for me to tackle. X^D
    Not to mention one less friend in Malaysia.
    In any case… congratulations! I guess we’ll still be keeping in touch despite you being in US. Will I get to attend your wedding dinner?


Leave a Reply

Twitter of a Cereal Killer

  • I love Dropbox because it is easy to use, easy to share stuff, easy to upload photos from my phone. db.tt/p5VJ3PCt 3 years ago
  • @BFMradio charcoal tab=activated carbon which absorbs toxins. Charred food are not carbon, they are carcinogenic chem eg HCA, acrylamide. 4 years ago
  • @BFMradio Great job, Boey. Love your comic! 4 years ago
  • @BFMradio Mira:the natural T in women tak cukup to turn u into Arnold. If u train hard enough, u'd probably look like a gymnast. =) 4 years ago
  • Bulgarian split squat is the most taxing exercise I've had to endure. It's a battle! 7 years ago
  • Hangzhou-lites go for IV drip during hi fever or sorethroat. -_-" Aiyoh, just drink lotsa 100 Plus and gargle saline water lah! Duh! 7 years ago
  • Got an earful from my superior. My right ear (was on the phone) is still ringing w/ her voice. Is it ok to hope that I get fired soon? LOL! 7 years ago
  • Just came back from HZ Hash Hound Harriers. Woooo, that was fun! I should so join again next week. 7 years ago

iamyuanwu’s fitness

Simplefit Level 6 day 3 = 14min 12s (12 Sep, Fri)

Hundred Pushups = Week 3 day 3 (13 Sep, Tue)

Stronglift 5x5 = temporary hiatus. Someone help me kick start plz, I mustn't waste the free Fitnesss First membership!

BN/UMN0 pisses me off!


Sep 05 BN MPs go 'study tour' to prevent them from jumping ship. X^D Stupiak tactic.
Sep 04 DrM 老马's seditious blog post <--click) inciting Malays to go amok. Told you DrM is evil.
Aug 29 Ahmad Ismail called me a bl00dy pendatang & do not deserve equal treatment. WTF?!

Lies... Damned lies... and Statistics

  • 108,063 have been victimised
Page Ranking Icon  

