07
Oct
08

Corrupted card… lost memories

I just had my trusty Sandisk Ultra II CF died out on me. The bl00dy card decided it was a cute idea to corrupt the files inside. Diu. Maybe I bought a fake Sandisk, or maybe I put the card on top of a HDD and kena all the magnetic damage.

I sometimes don’t download files into the PC after a photo shoot. Hey, there’s still lots of space in the card… so I malas lah.

One find day, I removed the card for a few days. When I re-inserted it into the camera, there was no photos in it despite it showing less memory space. I suspected some thing wrong… but the heck with it, I was rushing off to the Viennese Ball practice. So I went ’round shooting the practice session. Setibanya di rumah… I couldn’t open the files. Had to connect through the camera and copy each file one-by-one. Then try to open them to check their integrity.

Well, the Viennese Ball practice photos are all A-OK. But photos taken during Hui Shan’s wedding was corrupted beyond my salvage. Arrrrgh…!!

In desperation, I connected my Nexto back-up HDD to the PC and check if any of previous photos were backed-up. Nasib baik I’ve downloaded the files. I tell you… the Nexto is a superb device.

The ever trusty Nexto M1.

— Neat trick: I used the laptop’s screen to light up the Nexto beautifully. —

See the CF card being inserted into it for back-up/transfer purpose? There’s another slot at the left side (of the device) for Memory Sticks and SD Cards; and a USB port at the bottom to back-up from cameras or USB sticks. And look ma… only one button. Every thing is done through that 1 button! One Ring Button to rule them all!

I’ve tried backing-up files from my phone into it. It works! Though it only backed-up the MicroSD in the phone. It can even transfer files from the HDD (inside the device) to USB sticks or memory cards — saves me the trouble of burning CDs for everyone.

Beside wiping your arse after you poo, there’s nothing the Nexto can’t do. As long as the other device has a USB plug, it will work its magic. (If your arse has a USB port, it’ll gladly back-up your arse too! X^D ) And, oh… the speed in which it would back-up your arse…

It’s a d@mn useful device, considering that flash memories are very prone to data corruption. While other external HDD casing will only cost about 80 Ringgit, the Nexto will burn a 499 Ringgit hole in your wallet for the SATA version (without HDD) from Shashinki.com.

the AMnesiac/

P.S. Have I mentioned that the Nexto M1 is a heck of a beauty too?

Leave a Reply

Twitter of a Cereal Killer

  • I love Dropbox because it is easy to use, easy to share stuff, easy to upload photos from my phone. db.tt/p5VJ3PCt 3 years ago
  • @BFMradio charcoal tab=activated carbon which absorbs toxins. Charred food are not carbon, they are carcinogenic chem eg HCA, acrylamide. 4 years ago
  • @BFMradio Great job, Boey. Love your comic! 4 years ago
  • @BFMradio Mira:the natural T in women tak cukup to turn u into Arnold. If u train hard enough, u'd probably look like a gymnast. =) 4 years ago
  • Bulgarian split squat is the most taxing exercise I've had to endure. It's a battle! 7 years ago
  • Hangzhou-lites go for IV drip during hi fever or sorethroat. -_-" Aiyoh, just drink lotsa 100 Plus and gargle saline water lah! Duh! 7 years ago
  • Got an earful from my superior. My right ear (was on the phone) is still ringing w/ her voice. Is it ok to hope that I get fired soon? LOL! 7 years ago
  • Just came back from HZ Hash Hound Harriers. Woooo, that was fun! I should so join again next week. 7 years ago

iamyuanwu’s fitness

Simplefit Level 6 day 3 = 14min 12s (12 Sep, Fri)

Hundred Pushups = Week 3 day 3 (13 Sep, Tue)

Stronglift 5x5 = temporary hiatus. Someone help me kick start plz, I mustn't waste the free Fitnesss First membership!

BN/UMN0 pisses me off!


Sep 05 BN MPs go 'study tour' to prevent them from jumping ship. X^D Stupiak tactic.
Sep 04 DrM 老马's seditious blog post <--click) inciting Malays to go amok. Told you DrM is evil.
Aug 29 Ahmad Ismail called me a bl00dy pendatang & do not deserve equal treatment. WTF?!

Lies... Damned lies... and Statistics

  • 108,885 have been victimised
Page Ranking Icon  

