24
Jul
09

Kungfu competitions on Chinese TV

I was at the gym when I ‘saw’ the show. Each episode, 2 kungfu schools are invited, typically with different kungfu styles. Then the show put the fighters into respective weight class and let them slog it out.

I wasn’t impressed at all.

I probably watched too much of Hong Kong kungfu/fighting movies. I was expecting something more polished and smooth, and gritty… something like Fight Quest when they learned Sanda.

Instead, what I saw was the typical kungfu pose before the engagement. Then when they engage in a fight, it looked like a hybrid of judo plus boxing plus kicking. Sure, there are a few signature moves once in a while. But nothing interesting.

Each bout was quick. Within 3-4 moves, one fella is down and point is given. The fighter then would have to stand up and reset the fight. This probably indicate the effectiveness of kungfu. If you’re good, you can take down an enemy within 3-4 moves.

My point is, I couldn’t feel any ‘kick’ from watching. In fact, it was boring as hell. And the fights weren’t fought in close distance. The fighters were standing far away. I wonder if it would be effective in a train or roadside where space is small. Close quarter fighting is totally different. And I wonder if kungfu would work when dealing with street fighting and self-defence.

If you want to learn how to defend yourself on the streets, I guess the best bet would be Kajukenbo of US, Krav Maga of Israel, and bodybuilding (no one ever dares to mess with a big guy). I would like to pick up kajukenbo (savate and taichi too), it’s ghetto and gritty. And they literally do street fights. This is as underground and ghetto as it gets.

4 Responses to “Kungfu competitions on Chinese TV”


  1. July 26, 2009 at 11:24 am

    Hahaha…doesn’t that happen to all martial art competition? The only thing that differentiate them is the stance/pose :-p

    Watching WWE is so much more fun :-D

    Cheers

  2. July 28, 2009 at 2:37 am

    Well, sort of. Most eventually end up being an all out brawl (if 2 different fighting systems fight each other). Lets go learn Kajukenbo or Krav Maga. Learn to fight against a group of people.
    Yeah, WWE is definitely more entertaining.

  3. 3 Kajukat
    October 28, 2009 at 8:44 am

    Greetings,

    As a Kajukenbo practitioner of Chinese descent, I would say learn Kajukenbo. It is the wildest martial arts experience ever. And the Fight Quest episode doesn’t really show the really scary stuff we do. We cannot scare people from trying to take a class of Kajukenbo. Are you ready to move to Hawaii or North America to experience it?

  4. October 28, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    Wow, a Kajukenbo practitioner commented here! And of Chinese descent too! =D

    I’d definitely love to learn Kajukenbo! Too bad I have no plans of moving to North America now.

    How much can a person learn in a month? Lets say I eat Kajukenbo, drink Kajukenbo, sleep Kajukenbo for that whole month?


Leave a Reply

Twitter of a Cereal Killer

  • I love Dropbox because it is easy to use, easy to share stuff, easy to upload photos from my phone. db.tt/p5VJ3PCt 3 years ago
  • @BFMradio charcoal tab=activated carbon which absorbs toxins. Charred food are not carbon, they are carcinogenic chem eg HCA, acrylamide. 4 years ago
  • @BFMradio Great job, Boey. Love your comic! 4 years ago
  • @BFMradio Mira:the natural T in women tak cukup to turn u into Arnold. If u train hard enough, u'd probably look like a gymnast. =) 4 years ago
  • Bulgarian split squat is the most taxing exercise I've had to endure. It's a battle! 7 years ago
  • Hangzhou-lites go for IV drip during hi fever or sorethroat. -_-" Aiyoh, just drink lotsa 100 Plus and gargle saline water lah! Duh! 7 years ago
  • Got an earful from my superior. My right ear (was on the phone) is still ringing w/ her voice. Is it ok to hope that I get fired soon? LOL! 7 years ago
  • Just came back from HZ Hash Hound Harriers. Woooo, that was fun! I should so join again next week. 7 years ago

iamyuanwu’s fitness

Simplefit Level 6 day 3 = 14min 12s (12 Sep, Fri)

Hundred Pushups = Week 3 day 3 (13 Sep, Tue)

Stronglift 5x5 = temporary hiatus. Someone help me kick start plz, I mustn't waste the free Fitnesss First membership!

BN/UMN0 pisses me off!


Sep 05 BN MPs go 'study tour' to prevent them from jumping ship. X^D Stupiak tactic.
Sep 04 DrM 老马's seditious blog post <--click) inciting Malays to go amok. Told you DrM is evil.
Aug 29 Ahmad Ismail called me a bl00dy pendatang & do not deserve equal treatment. WTF?!

Lies... Damned lies... and Statistics

  • 108,063 have been victimised
Page Ranking Icon  

